Sacred Holidays – Book Review

I actually read Sacred Holidays by Becky Kiser back in November, but I wanted to spend some time applying what I learned in Sacred Holidays to my life before I shared it with all of you.

Sacred Holidays

Sacred Holidays has changed the way I look at all holidays. I am a planner and I like to plan everything out. I am really excited to see how it helps me next year with Thanksgiving and Christmas since I read it in mid-November this year. However, I did make a few changes to our Christmas experience based on suggestions in Becky’s book  and it really was amazing. I have already used it for New Years and I can’t wait to start using it to help me in making Valentines, Lent and Easter, summer, Halloween and even birthdays more sacred.

Becky’s book is divided into three sections, “Less Chaos, More Jesus”; “Holidays”; and “Common Struggles”. I read the “Less Chaos, More Jesus” and “Common Struggles” first and then went back and read through the “Holidays” but I started with Thanksgiving and Christmas since it was so close to Christmas.

In the book I love how she tells you when to read each section and recommends the holidays 30-60 days before the holidays.  With my health issues and having a large family having things planned in advance is important for me.  So I can put a note in my planner to remind me to re-read that holiday.  I know this will be a book I will read year round and for many years to come.

Years ago I use to follow a Christmas planning yahoo group and I always want help with other holidays too but never found anything to help me. Sacred Holidays has filled that void and no matter how simple or extravagant you like to be with each holiday I would recommend Sacred Holidays to you.

Disclosure: Thanks to B&H Publishing Group for sponsoring today’s post; all opinions are honestly my own.  Please check out my policies and disclosure for more details.

One thought on “Sacred Holidays – Book Review

Leave a comment